Skip to main content

Santa Ynez Valley Schools

The "Valley" Schools consist of one High School District (Santa Ynez Valley Union) and six elementary districts (Ballard, Buellton, College, Los Olivos, Solvang, and Vista Del Mar).  Each district is separate, unique, and distinct.  Still, most of the challenges and initiatives at each school are quite similar.  The seven districts have found a way to collaborate to support each other and share resources. 


Valley Districts

About Our School District

About Vista Del Mar Union School District


Vista del Mar Union School District, established in 1926, is a single-school district located in the unicorporated area of Gaviota, approximately 30 miles north of scenic Santa Barbara on the central coast of California. The District Office and its Transitional Kindergarten-8th grade school, Vista de Las Cruces, are surrounded by foothills covered with twisting sycamore and oak trees and fragrant coastal sage. The school and its surrounding communities embrace the valley's rich history into its curriculum, providing a warm atmosphere and creative educational experience for each of its students.We provide a small student setting with personalized attention, helping children grow both academically and socially. Our district embraces unique educational programs and projects that help our students become environmentally conscientious and contributing members of this 21st century community. 

Our Mission

The mission of Vista de Las Cruces, a collaborative, historically rich community, is to guarantee students a safe and positive environment from which they will emerge as well-rounded, forward-thinking citizens. 

Our Motto

"Learning for Life"

School Information